Review: Emma in the Night

image1****I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.****

Emma in the Night by Wendy Walker will be released on August 8, 2017, you can pick up a copy here.

Emma in the Night  about the disappearance of two sisters, Emma and Cassandra (Cass).  The two girls live in a disfunctional household with their mother, stepfather, and stepbrother.   Emma and Cass have grown up with a mother who is a clinical narcissist and a father who is a little bit of a weak person.  Three years before the book starts, the girls disappear with no evidence to show how they disappeared or who took them.  The book begins with the return of Cass, the younger of the sisters and the story unfolds from there.

I would class this book as a young adult thriller/suspense.  The story is captivating and I really enjoyed the way Wendy Walker let the story unfold.  The book is told in a dual narrative between Cass and Dr. Abby Winter, a forensic psychologist who worked on the case three years prior and is called back on the case when Cass comes home.  I enjoyed both perspectives because we got an insider’s prospective and an outsider’s perspective.  I loved the way Walker gave you enough where you were not confused but still held back so that you had some “gasp-worthy” moments.  I do have to admit that I found the first little bit slow, but when it took off I flew through this book.

Overall, this is a fun and exciting read and if you are interested in this genre, then this is a book I would definitely recommend.  I don’t think that it will stick with me for a long time, but it was a fun read.

Are you excited about this book?  Have you read Wendy Walker’s other book? Let me know in the comments.

Much love,

Tasha

One thought on “Review: Emma in the Night

Leave a Reply

