Readathin TBR!!

Hey y’all today with a TBR for Readathin! Readathin was created by Jessica at Jessicamarie493, Amanda at ACourtofBooksandLove, and Chelsea at AVeryBookishGirl (Check out all of their blogs! I’ve been loving their content.)  It is a month-long readathon and you have to complete 6 out of the 18 challenges. The goal is to thin out your TBR list! Here is Jessica’s announcement of the Read-a-Thin here.

I love month-long readathons so this was perfect, especially since I took a couple of days off  work for my birthday (August 6th by the way).  Anyway, I’ve rambled on enough, let me list the challenges I plan to do and the corresponding books:

IMG_1483 (1)

Challenge 1: Read a 2017 book release: The Windfall by Diksha Basu – This was my Book of the Month Club (click here to sign up, full disclosure I would get a referral credit if you use it) pick for July and I am excited to get into what appears to be a funny and satirical novel.  Plus it’s less than 300 pages so I should be able to read it pretty fast.

Challenge 2: Read a book that is the same color (or similar color) as your birthstone: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – The birthstone for August is peridot (it’s like a light green color) when I looked at my shelf this book immediately stood out.  It’s a contemporary about a girl whose best friend moves and she leaves a list of stuff for her to do (I think…).  Anyway, I have been meaning to pick up a Morgan Matson book, so this one seemed perfect for a readathon.

Challenge 3: Read a book starting with a letter from TBR (“the” doesn’t count):  This Savage Song by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab –  I am on the last book of V.E. Schwabs Shades of Magic trilogy and I like it ok (thoughts coming once I finish the trilogy), I’m interested into seeing how her YA books are and I have heard people raving about it.  I’m a little hesitant for this one because I wasn’t just over-the-moon with her Shades of Magic trilogy but I’ll give it a try.  This book is about a world where when an evil act is done there is an actual monster created.  The story follows a girl and then one of the monsters. (I don’t have this included in the picture because it’s on my Kindle.)

Challenge 4: Read a book with a warm colored cover: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff – I’m excited about this one (as I put in my previous post here).  The bright orange cover of this book more than fits into this challenge.

Challenge 5: Read a new to you author: A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers – I have not read any Becky Chambers but I have heard good things about this book and her writing.

Challenge 6:  Read a book recommended to you by someone in the book community: Rules of Civility by Amor Towles – I saw Olive from A Book Olive on YouTube proclaim this book as her favorite book of all time so I was intrigued.  I know that this book is set in the 1930’s and it’s about a social climber(?).  I’m excited to get into it.

I’m excited to start this readathon and have no doubt I can complete these challenges in a month.  I might see what other ones I can complete and do an in dept wrap-up.  I will still be putting up a monthly TBR and I plan on participating in another readathon this month.  Are you participating, what are you reading?  Let me know in the comments!

Much love,

Tasha

7 thoughts on “Readathin TBR!!

  1. I loved Since You’ve Been Gone and want to read the rest of Morgan Matson’s work this month! And I read Illuminae and liked it okay. I can see why people love it so much but I’m just not much of a sci-fi person.

    I’m so glad you can join us and I’m so happy you love our content!

    I hope you enjoy your books! Tome Topple is going on from the 4th to the 17th! I read Illuminae and Gemina in the last one!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m debating what to read. I want to read A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and The Unexpected Everything. I just have to decide which to start with. I’ll be listening to an audiobook, reading a manga, and hopefully reading both of those but I doubt I’ll get to both.

        Like

  2. So excited that you’ll be joining us during the readathon!
    I loved This Savage Song by VE Schwab and really need to pick up the sequel.
    It’s such a cool and different world and her writing style is amazing.

    I also need to pick a Morgan Matson book soon, I own them all and haven’t read any. Oops.

    Thanks again for joining in! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m hoping Morgan Matson is a contemporary I like.

      I’m hoping I love This Savage Song. It sounds like the kind of fantasy I like and I enjoy VE Schwab’s writing overall.

      Like

Leave a Reply

