Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli is the story of Simon who’s in the closet and has been having an online relationship with a mystery guy named Blue.  One of Simon’s classmates gets on the computer after Simon and discovers this information and uses it to blackmail Simon.  The story follows Simon coming to terms with “coming-out” and they mystery of Blue.

Becky Albertalli is amazing at writing teenage voices.  I never once felt I was reading about an over-the-top angsty teenager.  All of the characters seemed were so realistic.  I also enjoyed how she included a lot of diversity in the story without making it seem like she was checking boxes.  The are characters of different races, sexual preferences, and home lives.  There were just enough red herrings in the book in regards of determining the identity of Blue but I had my suspicions pretty early (I was right!).

Simon was an exceptional character and a new all-time favorite.  As he came to terms with his sexuality and other aspects of his life I just loved him even more! Blue was so adorably awkward with his feelings for Simon.  Once they got together my heart was so happy, I got a little teary eyed.

I will definitely be re-reading and recommending this book for years to come.  It is an excellent novel (YA or otherwise) and I can’t wait to add it to my collection (I got it through the Overdrive app from the library). Albertalli’s second book The Upside of Unrequited is suppose to be really good too, and I cannot wait to read that one.

What did you think of Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda?  Are you planning on reading it?  Let’s discuss in the comments.

Much love,

Tasha

One thought on “Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Leave a Reply

