July Wrap-up, August TBR, and Tome Topple TBR

It’s (surprisingly) that time of the month again.  Here is a breakdown of the books that I have completed in the month of July and my TBR for August.

This month I was able to complete a total of 20 book/audiobooks.  Here is a breakdown of what I read this month:

  • Physical books: 10
  • Ebooks: 7
  • Audiobooks: 3
  • Young Adult books: 8
  • Middle Grade books: 3
  • Graphic Novels: 2
  • Non-fiction: 1
  • General fiction: 6

Here are my 5 star reads for the month.

Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo – I have a full review here.  I expected a slow paced adult fiction character study and look inside a marriage.  What I got was so much more than that.  I was so amazed by the writing and if I were a crier, I would have totally cried at the ending of this book.  This was Adebayo’s debut novel and I will definitely be reading everything that she writes from now on.  I will be picking up a physical copy of this book when it is released on August 22nd.

simonSimon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – This story was so adorable.  Becky Albertalli is able to write teenagers in a way that was so believable.  I have a full review here.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid – This was my Book of the Month pick for June (sign up here, if interested), however this book was already on my radar prior to me knowing that this was one of the picks for June.  It sounded so interesting because I absolutely love old Hollywood things and stories.  I had no idea what I was expecting, but it wasn’t this.  I was pleasantly surprised.  It was a story of love and loss and perseverance.  Taylor Jenkins Reid is a phenomenal writer and I cannot wait to read her backlist.

Sidetracked by Diana Harmon Asher – I received this book for free via Netgalley and the publisher Amulet Books for an honest review.  I will do a full review of this book closer to the release date of August 22, 2017.  This is a middle grade story about Joseph, a kid with ADD and appears to be on the autism spectrum.  Joseph makes friends with Heather who is also somewhat of a social outcast too.  This story is about accepting yourself, coming-of-age, and realizing that most people in middle school are going through similar things.  I actually cried tears of joy in this book (I know, I surprised myself).

FullSizeRender

Now here are a few more things I plan to read in August.  I already posted my Read-a-thin TBR which you can view here.  In addition to Read-a-thin I will be participating in Tome Topple.  Tome Topple is another readathon that takes place from midnight on August 4 – 11:59 on August 17.  This readathon  was started by one of my favorite Booktubers, Sam at Thoughts on Tomes and you can see her announcement video here. Tome Topple is a readathon where the purpose is to read books that are over 500 pages.  It is two weeks long and there is a twitter account for sprints and other things.  This will be my first time participating and I have two books on my TBR.

Tome Topple Book 1: A Counjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab (666 pages) – This is the third book and conclusion to Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy.  I enjoyed the first one but didn’t love it.  I read the second one and enjoyed the last 50%, so I will be completing this trilogy because while the story hasn’t completely grabbed me, I am emotionally invested in some of the characters and I already own the book.   I should be able too get this finished within the week.

Tome Topple Book 2: The Post-Birthday World by Lionel Shriver (517 pages) – This is a story of alternating timelines, where in one Irina kisses a man, who is not her husband, on her birthday and one where she does not.  The book has 2 of each chapters and the aftermath of her decision.  That’s all I know but I have heard fantastic things not only about this book but about the author, so I’m very excited to see if I like the writing and plot of this book.

In addition to these books, I would like to at least start Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  As you know, I am FINALLY making my way through the Harry Potter Series and I am currently in the middle of Goblet of Fire (which of course I’m loving), and I would like to read at lease one book a month.

These are my (tentative) August plans but we all know that I read what I want.

What are you reading this month? Are you participating in any readathons this month?

Also, would you like me to list all of the books I read when I do these monthly wrap-ups?  Would that be more helpful?  Let me know in the comments.

Much Love,

Tasha

 

Leave a Reply

